World Coffee Events Committees


WCE is supported by a robust group of volunteer committee members. These members collaborate on, generate, and refine many materials, processes, and documents that help support our mission statement. WCE’s committees are critical to helping develop and shape the organization, and in supporting our strategic initiatives. Annual working groups may also be formed to help with specific projects related to one activity or championship.

Competition Strategic Committee – A volunteer leadership team designed to address competition needs and questions at the highest levels, interfacing with the SCA Board of Directors and other internal and external groups. Assists in developing format and strategic planning for all of the championships, including rules, regulations, judges, communications, and marketing. This group brings together long-time competition experts from many perspectives, meeting throughout the year to consider how to keep the competition formats moving forward with our industry.

Competition Rules and Regulations Committees – Each of the individual championships has a committee of subject-matter experts, competitors, and judges who volunteer their time to meet throughout the year and develop updated rules, regulations, and scoresheets for each competition. These individual committees work with the strategic vision outlined by the Competition Strategic Committee, translating it into evolutions and improvements for each of the championships.

For any queries related to the work of these groups, please email [email protected].

Committee Members

Competition Strategic Committee

Bart Deprez
Blanca Castro
Cerianne Bury
Emma Markland Webster
Juan Luis Barrios
Mike Yung
Sonja Grant
Sarah Anderson
Stephen Morrissey
Amy Ball (Staff Lead)
Alex Bernson (Marketing & Communications Liaison)
Laura Lee (Sponsorship Liason)
Irene Beretta (R&R Committees Liaison)
James Draper (R&R Committees Liaison)

Rules & Regulations Committees

As of Dec. 2018 the membership of the individual championship committees is still being confirmed.